Summer Chow

Summer is coming to an end. For lots of people it’s a sad time.  I, however, am very excited for a Minnesota fall.  At the same time I feel like it’s a last chance for favorite summer foods.  So today when I became too hungry to focus on my Grey’s Anatomy marathon I decided to cook a last chance summer lunch.  Chicken salad. I apologize in advance for the lack of photos, but I was too hungry to even think about it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 1 stalk of celery, finely diced
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 1/4 c mayonnaise
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • Kosher salt
  • Celery salt
  • Olive oil

 

  • Preheat oven to 425
  • Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Arrange the sliced shallots on top of the chicken and drizzle with olive oil.  Bake at 425 for 25 minutes.
  • After chicken has cooked, chop and refrigerate until chilled
  • In a medium bowl, mix chilled chicken, mayonnaise, celery and green onions
  • Season with celery salt to taste

Other fantastic additions might be dried cherries, dried cranberries, almond slivers, Dijon mustard, sliced red grapes, bacon, water chestnuts, crunched up maple leaves (stop! I’m only kidding about the last part!).

Anyway, enjoy! Happy weekend!

Leave a comment